Official Elemental CM KidMin Blog Madness Sweet 16 Voting Guide

Today, Saturday, March 26, is the last day to put in your votes for Round 2 of Ministry-to-Children’s Kids Ministry Blog Madness 2011! If you haven’t been following it, the competition is close! I am going to throw in my thoughts of who you should vote for. I know many of theses guys and gals who are in the running, but a decision had to be made 🙂

West Regional Section

Place your vote for Lemon Lime Kids, Amy Dolan’s site. Amy Dolan is an amazing kidmin leader who has dedicated her life to helping children’s ministry leaders find a fresher approach to leading and teaching children. She’s also becoming known as the “better meeting” guru. I had the privilege of meeting Amy at Conspire in 2009 (the very last Willow Creek Children’s Ministry conference) when she was overseeing the children’s ministry arm of the WCA. Over the past year and a half, I’ve had the privilege of working with her (alongside Matt Guevara) on the What Matters Now in Children’s Ministry project putting out an ebook, published version of the book, and a video edition (sort of like TED but for kidmin). So vote for Amy. Currently she is behind Jim Wideman by just over 50 votes. It’s not that I don’t love Jim… I do! I just think it would be really awesome for Amy to move into the next and final round.

Southeast Regional

Place your vote for Kidmin360, Greg Baird’s site. I’ve come to know Greg via his blog, emails and chatting. He has a huge heart for equipping children’s ministry leaders in any way he can. Not only does he run Kidmin360, but he also is the West Coast person for KidzBlitz, one of the coaches in the Celera Church Stategy Group, runs KidminJobs (a search and placement service for children’s ministry positions) and hey, he used to work for John Maxwell 🙂 Greg is trailing a bit behind in his region, so just think of the amazing Cinderalla story there! Let’s get Greg to the next round. While Karl is a good friend, Justyn is a dynamic emerging leader, and Orange Leaders is a wealth of amazing leadership content… I’ve got to stick with my fellow Californian (yes, technically Justyn is now a Californian, but he is a recent transplant 🙂 ).

East Regional

Place your vote for Dad in the Middle, Wayne Stocks’s site. Wayne has become one of my heroes as a champion for those in children’s ministry who are bivocational and volunteer leaders. Over the past ten years, I’ve had the privilege of being full time on church staffs, and I can’t imagine the amount of time that it takes to have to run a children’s ministry AND work another job. In addition to Dad in the Middle, Wayne started Kidmin1124, a site that is expressly written by and for bivocational and volunteer children’s ministry leaders. Another reason I really love Wayne is his enthusiasm in jumping behind the What Matters Now in Children’s Ministry project; he’s become one of our greatest cheerleaders, and we value his suggestions and input. So, go vote for Wayne! He’s trailing behind, but it’s never too late 🙂 Again, nothing against the other blogs… Sam is a good friend and the other two blogs have some great content as well. Wayne advancing would also be a great Cinderalla story 🙂

Southwest Regional

Place your vote for Small Town Kidmin, Jared Massey’s site. I’ve had the privilege of getting to know Jared through his blogs and emails. Most recently, I had the privilege of having him as a coaching client. Jared has a HUGE heart for children’s ministry and helping those who are doing children’s ministry in a small church. Jared has been able to pull off some BIG ideas in his context and has shared his experiences with others in small churches through his blog. Jared is also in the ranks of bivocational children’s ministry leaders. He holds a full time job at a bank and moonlights as a children’s ministry leader… another one of my kidmin heroes! While Jared is currently in the lead, things could change quickly, so please be sure to cast your vote for Jared. Kenny and Anthony are good friends and FreeCMStuff has some great things going on, too, but I’ve got to stick with the one who’s giving me a place to lie my head during the Orange Conference 🙂

So, there you go… my suggestions for who you should vote for. Regardless of who you vote for, you should check out all of the blogs that have been a part of this competition. There is some great stuff there and these are all amazing kidmin leaders.

4 thoughts on “Official Elemental CM KidMin Blog Madness Sweet 16 Voting Guide

  1. Jared M says:

    One out of four isn’t too bad. Does these mean I can count on your vote in the final round?

  2. Wayne Stocks says:

    Henry,

    Thank you for your kind words. My goal each year is to make the “Sweet Sixteen,” and I was happy to do that this year. It’s a fun competition, and I’m glad to see the children’s ministry blogging community get some more exposure. I got wind from the beginning that Jared was very likely to win the competition, and I couldn’t be happier for him. I can’t think of anyone more deserving. I wish I could be there with you guys in Atlanta, but I will settle for living vicariously again this year! 🙂 Talk to you soon.

Join the Conversation

