The Great Zonio Moving Adventure Day 3


June 27, 2010 – Sunday

This is the first Sunday in 10 years where I don’t have to worry about what’s going on at church. It’s not that I didn’t like being on a church staff as a children’s pastor. I loved it. In the past couple of years, though, I’ve felt a greater passion to be a more global influence on the world of children’s ministry. I’ve loved my time working with a local church, and I still think that is important. For me, though, I had to make a choice: either devote myself more to the church I was serving in and give up much of the networking and research and writing I’ve been doing or take a leap and devote myself more to learning more about culture and theology and how it all relates to how the Church reaches out to children and families. It’s not that I had to choose which one was “better.” I had to choose where I was going to focus my passions. As we continue on this crazy move, I sometimes wonder why I’ve chosen the latter.

Of all the things Erin and I were looking forward to on this moving adventure, today was the day we were anticipating the most. I remember the first time I heard about Mt. Rushmore. I was in awe of the work and time and craftsmanship that went into carving the heads of four US Presidents into a mountain. Ever since hearing about it and seeing pictures of it I’ve wanted to go see it for myself. The same goes for Erin.

One of fun highlights was getting to eat a buffalo burger at the cafeteria!

After leaving Mt. Rushmore, we drove to Rawlins, WY. The drive was one of the most beautiful I’ve ever driven. Erin and I will definitely be coming back to the Black Hills area to do some more exploring.

Tomorrow, we have a quick 4 hour drive to Salt Lake City. We’re looking forward to being able to relax a bit and swim in the pool!


One thought on “The Great Zonio Moving Adventure Day 3

  1. Revisiting Orange 2010… Take Two! | Elemental Children's Ministry says:

    […] go to Orange 2010, it’s OK for you to share your thoughts as well!) Unfortunately, I was in the middle of a major life transition and was not able to get those posts up. I’m […]

Join the Conversation

