Orange 2010 Opening Session – Part 1

Yes, you read that correctly… Part 1! There was just so much that happened in the opening session that I had to break it up.

The opening session kicked off with a pretty cool stomp routine. They even had a time where they turned down the lights and the guys used metal grinders on the metal drums creating pyrotechnic-like effects. It was pretty impressive.

If you know me well, then you know that the next part of the session was not one of my faves. Luckily, I was waaaay up in the balcony and pretty far away.

Reggie shared for the first part of the opening session about the theme of COLLIDE. There are three statements that stood out for me:

  • When I collide with the world, it changes the way I see God.
  • When I collide with God, it changes the way I see the world.
  • When I collide with the people around me, it gives me a better picture of the world around me.

We can get so caught up in ourselves and improving what we do so we can be more effective. We forget that we aren’t here to simply get better at what we do. We are here in community, and that means we need to interact (or collide) with the each other… we need to collide with God… we need relationships.

Throughout Reggie’s opening, he shared a lot of stories. One that stood out to me was the story of a college student who grew up in church but got sick of it. She now gets together with her friends (who aren’t Christ-followers) and talk about God of all things. When asked why she’s fine doing that and not fine with church, here answer was, “It’s like putting together a puzzle. I don’t want someone looking over my shoulder telling me where the pieces go. I want to be a part of the process.” Wow!


One thought on “Orange 2010 Opening Session – Part 1

  1. […] Orange 2010 Opening Session – Part 1 […]

Join the Conversation

