Learning From Children

A little while back I blogged about an amazing 12-year-old girl named Adora Svitak who happened to be a TED speaker in February of 2010. At the time, her TED talk had not been published. Here it is:

http://video.ted.com/assets/player/swf/EmbedPlayer.swfAll I can say is, “Wow!” While you may not agree with everything she said, she does make a great point: Adults can and need to learn from children!

In church-world, we get so caught up in making sure we are teaching children the right answers. We are quick to correct theological views and concepts that we deem as wrong or juvenile.

I like what Don and Brenda Ratcliff say in their new book Childfaith:

Affirm [children’s] comments, even if part of what they say lacks theological sophistication. Mistaken theology can be corrected later; the impor- tant thing is that the child under- stands that it’s wonderful for them to have had a meaningful spiritual encounter with God, nature, or people

What do you think? What has been your experience in learning from children?


2 thoughts on “Learning From Children

  1. Theresa Haskins says:

    My youngest daughter never ceases to amaze me. She "gets" stuff I couldn't "get" until I was in my 40's (she's 10). I agree, you can learn from people of ALL ages!

    • henryjz says:

      My 10-year-old just told my wife (his mom) that life was like a story, it ends. Then heaven is like the better second part to the story. It's like reading a series of books that just get better.

Join the Conversation

