Video Review: "Pistachio, The Boy That Woodn't" by VeggieTales

In one of their most recent videos, the VeggieTales crew addressed the theme of listening to your parents. Junior Asparagus takes on the role of Pistachio, a boy carved out of wood who has a hard time listening to his father, Gelato, a wood carver who had no children of his own (played by Larry the Cucumber). My favorite character is the return of Khalil the Caterpillar who plays Cricket, a caterpillar who isn’t a cricket (I thought it was funny). From the picture and little bit of the setting, you are correct to assume that this is a retelling of the Disney classic Pinnochio with a VeggieTales twist.

For those of you who have been fans of VeggieTales from the very beginning (Where’s God When I’m Scared), you will immediately notice something different… they remixed the introduction! The song, itself, hasn’t changed; it’s just a bit different. In addition to changing up the theme song, the VeggieTales set gets an update courtesy of a Veggie version of Extreme Makeover. Not only that… Qwerty has been updated to! Qwerty can talk and receive video emails!

It was a bit of a shock to see all the changes, but overall, I think that these are positive changes. One thing that would be really neat is for the video emails to be real ones that VeggieTales receives through one of the many social media outlets like Facebook or a blog or something like that.

As for the story in this video, I found it a bit simplistic and overly moralizing. They did clearly make the point that it is important to listen to parents even though I think it was overdone. I do give VeggieTales kudos, though, for trying to go beyond the “obvious” theme of truth-telling when it comes to the story of Pinnochio. Children will still enjoy this video. I also found it fun to see throwbacks from the Jonah movie like Khalil, the whale, and even some deja vu of being inside the belly of a whale.

You can find Pistachio at your local Christian retailer or at online sites like Amazon or Christianbook.com.

Take a look at the trailer for the video below:

NOTE: This video was provided to me compliments of the generous people at David C. Cook and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. for the purpose of providing a video review. This in no way has negatively or positively biased my review. Other than the provided video, I was not compensated in any way.


2 thoughts on “Video Review: "Pistachio, The Boy That Woodn't" by VeggieTales

  1. Wayne Stocks says:

    It's funny that the first thing you mentioned was the re-mixed intro. Kids are such creatures of routine, that my two middle kids (aged 7 and almost 9) were so taken aback by the fact that they changed the song at the beginning that they were talking about it well into the start of the movie.

    I thought the remodeling idea was cute, but I agree with your overall assessment of the movie. I loved seeing Khalil again, and I thought the silly song was cute, but I didn't think this episode lived up to the standard set by earlier episodes. That said, it won't keep me from going out and buying the next one when it comes out. I still love and appreciate the Veggietales franchise both as a parent and a children's ministry workers.

    Thanks for the review.

    • Henry Zonio says:

      Wow! That was quick, Wayne! I just posted this 🙂 I was disappointed by this one, but I agree that it won't stop me from getting the next one. Although, they just haven't felt the same since the sad exodus of Phil, they are still some of the best out there when it comes to Christian entertainment for children. Although, now that What's in the Bible is hitting stores, VegieTales has some real competition now 😉

Join the Conversation

