Guinness Anyone?

I ran across the following video on Internet Monk. It’s Os Guinness talking about the culture war in the US has contributed to the creation of new athiests. So sorry if you were expecting the other Guinness 😉

So, what are your thoughts?

We look at the stats of people dropping out of church as they graduate high school and are quick to point to all the externals: postmodern pluralism and relativism, lack of teaching a “Biblical worldview,” over secularization of media and society, etc. What if the problem is inside? What if the problem isn’t what we aren’t teaching? What if the problem is what WE ARE teaching?


2 thoughts on “Guinness Anyone?

  1. Peter says:

    I think his accent makes him more credible. (haha)

    Hey HenryJZ, I'm new here. Your blog stirs my thoughts. I started as a Children's Ministry Director almost two years ago to date, and something I'm coming to terms with is 1) I love Children's Ministry, and 2) I don't relate to much of current Children's Ministry culture. That's a tough one for me to accept about myself because, perhaps ashamedly, I frequently find myself alone when it comes to networking with other Children's Pastors. I don't relate to many popular curricula. I don't relate to the overwhelming certainty from which most Children's Directors/Pastors overtly operate (am I really the only one who doesn't have all the answers??). I'm finding it harder and harder to relate to the sinner's prayer lately, something which I prayed myself when I was 6 years old!

    Anyway, all that to say, here I am! I look forward to reading more of your blog. Cheers —

    • henryjz says:

      Well, I'm glad you found the blog! I know what you mean about CM culture. I am finding, though, there are more of us out there who are trying to find a new way… a "third way" if you will… of approaching CM. I see conversations happening like those of The Origins Project happening with leaders at the adult end of the spectrum but little is done to filter those conversations down to where the children are and cultivating a new culture where I think it counts most–with the kids.

      I look forward to interacting with you more often. Checked out your blog. Congrats on a great start. Can't wait to read and interact with you there, too. Hopefully, we'll get to meet sometime in the near future, have coffee, and chat.

Join the Conversation

