Lent Starts Today. What Are You Doing?

(picture originally uploaded to Flickr by akahodag)

I’m usually on the ball with Lent. This year, though, there’s been a lot of things going on and it snuck up on me!

In previous years I’ve given up things like TV or pop (or for those of you who say it wrong… soda, coke, or soft drinks). Since Lent appeared out of nowhere for me, I haven’t really had time to reflect on what would be something meaningful that I could give up as a physical way of being reminded to prepare myself to identify with Christ’s suffering come Holy Week (the week leading up to Easter). I’m also at a loss of what to do to inspire kids and families to observe Lent…

What are you all doing? Personally? In your ministries?

I’m will be going through 40 Days Living the Jesus Creed by Scot McKnight with my family. I’m just not sure what to “give up” for Lent.


Join the Conversation

