Innovative and New in Children's Ministry!

A little while back, Sam Luce posted about innovation in children’s ministry. He asked the question, “Why isn’t there more innovation in Children’s Ministry?” I then saw an article via Alltop on 50 ways to foster innovation in an organization.

We want to be original. We want to be new, fresh, and all that jazz. Yet, when you take a look at the world of children’s ministry and much of the church for that matter, you get the feeling you do when you watch that YouTube video at the top of this post.

Do we really need another curriculum, another book, another conference, another whatever? Now, I’m not saying any of those things are bad or that we don’t need them. What I am saying, though is that we need to stop calling things new or innovative that really aren’t. I am also not saying that we shouldn’t try discovering some new and innovative way of helping children to encounter God in life transforming ways. We need new glasses to see things. We need to reevaluate what it is we’re trying to do. Then we need to wade our way through to a truly new and innovative way to children’s ministry.

(HT: Brian’s Blog for the link to the above YouTube vid)


6 thoughts on “Innovative and New in Children's Ministry!

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Origins Project and Henry Zonio, Kidology. Kidology said: RT @Originsproject: RT @henryjz: #kidmin Innovative and New in Children’s Ministry! http://twurl.nl/e1iuqv #cmconnect […]

  2. […] originally uploaded to Flickr by Torley) A few days ago I put up a post about saying something is new and innovative when it really isn’t. I thought I would follow up that post with this series called Staying Dynamic in Children’s […]

  3. […] I knew what I wanted to write about. I just didn’t have a word. Back in December, I wrote a post about innovation in children’s ministry. I then followed that up witha series on being dynamic in children’s ministry. Those posts […]

  4. […] few months ago I put up a post about saying something is new and innovative when it really isn’t. I thought I would follow up that post with this series called Staying Dynamic in Children’s […]

Join the Conversation

