Kids and Apologetics

(picture originally uploaded to Flickr by theirhistory)

I thought I’d throw this out to all of you brilliant people in the Elemental Children’s Ministry community… I’m in the midst of writing an article on the topic of apologetics and kids. The topic surrounds the idea of what apologetics looks like with kids today? When kids talk about their faith with other people, what does that look like? Where does apologetics fit in with kids? Does it? How does it fit in with where kids are today? What is the apologetic for this generation of kids?

What are your thoughts? What do you think I should put in the article?
Don’t worry, if I plan on using anything you put in the comments for my article, I’ll ask first πŸ™‚


5 thoughts on “Kids and Apologetics

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Henry Zonio, Kidology. Kidology said: RT @henryjz: Chime in! Looking for feedback for article I'm writing http://bit.ly/8uZyCD | kids and apologetics-thoughts? #kidmin #cmconnect […]

  2. Kendra says:

    I guess what I'd most like kids to be armed with when sharing their faith is their own personal experience. You can argue points about creation, the legitimacy of the Bible, and even Christ but it's hard to deny what someone has encountered in their own life.

    I like to use the concrete example of ketchup. (I don't know about Canadian children but I doubt there's an American kid that hasn't tasted ketchup.) πŸ™‚ You can't convince a kid with any amount of argument, facts, logic, "science" or persuasion that ketchup doesn't exist and isn't good. It's too late. They've tasted it for themselves.

    I know that's a different slant than the regular Case for Christ, Creation Science-style apologetics, but kids are facing so much counter-Christian media, if I can just get them to taste and see for themselves, it won't matter if they forget the logical arguments. It will be too late. They will already know Him.

    For the record, in our November apologetics series, we did introduce historical, scientific, and other evidence. But our main point was for kids to make their faith their own by investigating their doubts by seeking answers from God.

    • Henry Zonio says:

      I'm with you. I think a children speak more from their personal experiences more than anything else, so if we can focus on crafting environments/spaces, time, and community to allow for children to experience God then I think that will do way more over time to help children hold onto their faith than traditional apologetics… Now we just need to come up with a snazzy term for that… hmmm…

  3. Karl Bastian says:

    Ketchup? What’s that?

Join the Conversation

