Beware of Twitter Spam!

I received a direct message from a friend on Twitter with a link to the above page. All the message said was, “Hey, is this you?” When I clicked on the link, thinking my friend was asking a legitimate question or had a funny pic to show me, I was prompted to enter my Twitter login info on a site that looks a lot like the Twitter login site… that is except for the URL!

Recently, there have been a number of Twitter accounts that have been hacked and messages have been sent out via those accounts to people on their follow lists. There is a quick resolution to this: if you find that your account has been hacked, change your password. If you are worried about getting your account hacked, simply be aware of where you enter your login information. Be sure the source that is asking for your info is a trusted source, and be sure that if you do end up on a page that looks like the Twitter login page that the URL is http://twitter.com.

I thought I’d blog about it because of the number of DMs I’ve been getting from friends’ accounts that have been hacked.


2 thoughts on “Beware of Twitter Spam!

  1. Matt says:

    Yes…Twitter hacking occurs and it is insanely irritating.

Join the Conversation

