Book Reviews: God is with Me through the Night and God Is with Me through the Day by Julie Cantrell

There are two new books put out by ZonderKidz by Julie Cantrell entitled “God is with Me through the Night” and “God is with Me through the Day.” I can’t tell you what a breath of fresh air it was to flip through the pages of these books and see that the pictures, style and text all fit well together. Each page has a large picture of a baby animal with a simple sentence. Each book highlights fears young children might have of the dark or during the day when separated from mom or dad because of school or day care. They then reassure children that God is always there and that mom and dad will always return.

These books would be perfect for very young children up through 5 or 6 years old. The pictures are cute and captivating, and the words are very simple. These books could very well be used to help early readers practice their reading skills, too. Kudos to Julie for sharing these books that were initially meant for her children. Kudos to ZonderKidz for recognizing great material for kids’ picture books. I highly recommend these books. You can order them through your local bookstore or online at retailers like Amazon.

Thanks to ZonderKidz, I have a set of these two books to give away to a lucky reader of Elemental Children’s Ministry. Leave a comment below about a fear you had as a child, and I will randomly choose one commenter to get the books. Comments will be open until 11:59 p.m. on Monday, November 23.

Also, be sure to check out Julie Cantrell’s blog at http://juliecantrell.wordpress.com for a variety of activities that you can do with the children in your family or classroom.


6 thoughts on “Book Reviews: God is with Me through the Night and God Is with Me through the Day by Julie Cantrell

  1. Henry Zonio says:

    I'll start… I'm scared of spiders. As long as I can remember, I've been scared of them.

  2. Virginia says:

    I was always afraid of getting kidnapped.

  3. Maggie Slusher says:

    When I was little I was afraid that my mom would go to work and never come back, along with being afraid spiders in the shower.

  4. cHaRiTy! says:

    i was afraid there was something under the bed, so if i got up in the middle of the night i would run as fast as i could down the hallway and jump from the doorway of my room onto my bed?!

  5. Henry Zonio says:

    And the winner of the free books is…. Virginia!

    Congrats! I've sent you an email requesting your snail mail addy. I'll get those books in the mail once I get that info from you.

  6. Virginia says:

    By the way, I forgot to send you a huge THANK YOU! These are awesome books!

Join the Conversation

