Seth Goding, Mowing the Lawn and Switching It Up

(photo originally uploaded to Flickr by shoshacapps)

I had my apprentice read this post from Seth Godin, and she said, “You really like this guy, eh?” (I’m up in Canada so I had to put in the Eh.) Yes, I do like Seth. He’s got some great thoughts… so, yes, here’s another one from him! Go read the post and come back here… Don’t forget to come back!

I had mentioned a few days ago that my pastoral apprentice and I switched areas of supervision a couple of weeks ago. She now oversees what happens on the elementary end of things on weekends, and I oversee what happens on the early childhood end of things on weekends. We’ll be doing this for at least a year.

One of the main reasons for doing this is so that I have a chance to experience first-hand what is happening in the early childhood areas. Yes, I communicate with the volunteers in this area pretty regularly and do what I can to make sure they have what they need in order to minister to the littlest people at our church, but I can only truly understand the needs in our early childhood areas by experiencing what they experience.

Another reason for making this switch is to let our church family tangibly see that ministry to ALL ages is important and valuable… valuable enough for the children’s pastor to jump in and be hands-on with even the early childhood areas. I am hoping this will encourage more people to venture volunteering in early childhood (especially men).

As leaders, it is easy to lose touch with what is going on in the front lines of ministry. I’ve found that more and more of my time goes to leadership development of those who I have the privilege of supervising. As that happens, though, I’m finding that I have to be even more intentional with being involved on the “front lines” of ministry so I continually grow and can continually adapt and improve how we can maximize how we minister to children.

  • What about you? What do you do to stay in tune with what happens on the front lines of your ministries?
  • Do you periodically insert yourself in different ministry areas? How do you do that?
  • What are some other ways to stay connected and empathetic and aware of how to best do ministry across the different areas of children’s ministry?


Join the Conversation

