How Could I Have Missed This?

Last week, I opened up an email from Willow about the Lead Summit. They had some downloadable material, one of which was the introduction and first chapter to a book by the president of Compassion International called Too Small To Ignore.

Here’s a small excerpt:

“What portion of your church budget is dedicated to children’s ministry? If it is more than 15 percent, yours is an exceptional church. What portion of your denomination’s mission budget is spent on worldwide children’s ministry? Again, if it is more than 10 percent, that is very rare.

Have you ever heard a major radio or television program or even a single broadcast advocating children’s ministry? Ever seen an edition of your favorite Christian magazine focused exclusively on children? Who are the hardest volunteers to recruit in your local church? Often it’s the nursery workers and children’s Sunday school teachers.

Can you name a single evangelical leader who is known as an outspoken champion for children, a D. L. Moody of today? I can’t. No, the church simply cannot wash its hands of the great omission.”

Yeah, my heart was pumping, too!

I was surprised to find out this book came out last May. How could I have missed a book like this one?

I haven’t read the book yet. I did order it, though, and will be reading it and then posting a review in a couple of weeks. I just thought that I’d let you all know about the book now.

Now that I think of it, is there anyone who would be interested in being part of doing a chapter-by-chapter review of the book here on Elemental Children’s Ministry? What you would need to do is contact me by clicking here and filling out the contact form expressing your interest. Then, you would need to order the book, commit to reading the chapter assigned to you and writing a brief review of the chapter that would be posted here on Elemental Children’s Ministry as well as wherever you’d want. I have participated in something like that before, and it was fun. Anyone interested? It doesn’t have to be a New York Times Book Review. It just has to be your honest impressions. Click here to contact me or leave a comment and let me know of your interest. I will get back to you with the details.


5 thoughts on “How Could I Have Missed This?

  1. sam says:

    Henry,

    I picked up this book a few months ago and it has sat on my shelf. I would love to do a chapter by chapter review with you. Maybe I could post it on my blog as well.

  2. Henry Zonio says:

    Awesome! I need to find a few more ppl to do it, and I'll get an email out with the details.

  3. KathySch says:

    This is a great book. I read it last year and have given several copies away. I'm in the midst of several other books, so I can't do a chapter by chapter on this one, but maybe another time.

  4. […] will be conducting it’s first-ever group blogging project. You can read more about it here. The gist of a this group blogging project is that I have asked a few people to contribute to a […]

Join the Conversation

