Ouch! Honesty Hurts!

(picture originally uploaded to Flickr by Bethany L King)

A couple of days ago, Eugene Cho had this post on his blog. He mentioned Amos 5:21-24 and challenged to read it as if it were addressed to each of us. He pointed out that it is cool for us to point out the cheesiness of “those Christians” and makes the case that we sometimes cross the line and become what we are criticizing.

Here’s the text from Amos 5:21-24 (The Message):

I can’t stand your religious meetings.
I’m fed up with your conferences and conventions.
I want nothing to do with your religion projects,
your pretentious slogans and goals.
I’m sick of your fund-raising schemes,
your public relations and image making.
I’ve had all I can take of your noisy ego-music.
When was the last time you sang to me?
Do you know what I want?
I want justice—oceans of it.
I want fairness—rivers of it.
That’s what I want. That’s all I want.

I know that I can be pretty critical of evangelical subculture, and I have been. Thanks, Eugene, for the reminder to remain humble and not make the criticisms the goal.

What are your thoughts? Can we be too critical of our more traditional and fundamental brothers and sisters? When have we crossed the line from passion into criticism?

 

3 thoughts on “Ouch! Honesty Hurts!

  1. Desiree says:

    Thanks for posting this. I get the feeling EVERYONE is getting a dose of humble pie lately. It's painful, but good. Because it's not about our fame but His. Mark Driscoll recently put it well — Do you want the gospel to win, or do YOU want to win? A very good question to hold on to.

    • Henry Zonio says:

      I think in our desire to see the Gospel move forward, we do need to point out where we think harm is being done… the problem is when we become self righteous. It's a fine line to trod.

  2. Desiree says:

    Yes it is. I've heard that "the more passion, the more potential for conflict" Not exact quote but paraphrase. I think it's great to have passion, but we have to keep our hearts focused on what matters most. Now always easy.

    Titus 3: 1-8
    Doing What is Good
    1Remind the people to be subject to rulers and authorities, to be obedient, to be ready to do whatever is good, 2to slander no one, to be peaceable and considerate, and to show true humility toward all men.

    3At one time we too were foolish, disobedient, deceived and enslaved by all kinds of passions and pleasures. We lived in malice and envy, being hated and hating one another. 4But when the kindness and love of God our Savior appeared, 5he saved us, not because of righteous things we had done, but because of his mercy. He saved us through the washing of rebirth and renewal by the Holy Spirit, 6whom he poured out on us generously through Jesus Christ our Savior, 7so that, having been justified by his grace, we might become heirs having the hope of eternal life. 8This is a trustworthy saying. And I want you to stress these things, so that those who have trusted in God may be careful to devote themselves to doing what is good. These things are excellent and profitable for everyone.

Join the Conversation

