Negative Screen Image on My Mac

I was getting ready to go to work earlier today and looked at my computer screen to see that it had a negative image. After screaming at my kids in my head, I calmy asked my older son what had happened. My older daughter said that my youngest son “pushed a button.”

Pushed a button? Pushed a button!!! Something like this doesn’t happen because someone pushes a button! Unless that someone is a 20-month-old boy who likes buttons…

Anyway, I calmly looked through my Display Settings to no avail. My wife offered words of encouragement, like “Did you look in the Display Settings?” To which I calmly said, “Yes, I did.” (After screaming in my head… again…)

Then I did what I should’ve done in the first place: I Googled it. (Side note: I love that Googled is a word that is recognized by autocorrect.)

Apparently, a negative screen image is a “feature” on some Macs. Why? I don’t know. Apparently Apple doesn’t know either, but they did tell me how to fix it. There’s a video below to show you what it looked like.

http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id=3576875&server=vimeo.com&show_title=1&show_byline=1&show_portrait=0&color=&fullscreen=1
Negative Screen Image on Mac from Henry Zonio on Vimeo.

Don’t you just love it when you discover new things?

21 thoughts on “Negative Screen Image on My Mac

  1. Desiree says:

    Ha! Be thankful it wasn’t a soda dumped on it like my house! When that happened I went in room for a couple of hours. Those little boys of ours!!! Grr!

    • Henry Zonio says:

      Oh my! If that had happened, I wouldn't have been screaming in my head… It would've been coming out of my mouth :)Had a friend that juice spilled on his.

      • Desiree says:

        Yeah, I was in my room for a couple hours taking it in. Luckily it was diet soda and has regained some of it's life back. We immediatly took it apart and let it dry. For a while the battery wouldn't charge but starting a couple days ago it did and seems fine. I was having a screen problem but I think that was the son too. when I moved the cursor, the screen would move. Now I'm hoping God will heal the dvd burner :-D! I haven't had a chance to try it yet though.

  2. james says:

    haha, thanks for that simple solution. i also have a 20 mo old boy who cant stay away fm the keyboard. ironically the negative of the negative image in your video is a normal image!

  3. deep says:

    Hi thanks,

    It helped.

  4. evelyne says:

    Found your post when I panicked once my 23 month old toddler made the screen go like a negative!! It was a big help, thanks!! Don't you just wonder how they can manage to do things like that!?

  5. James says:

    Thanks. I googled it too after my wife looked at every setting and program trying to fix it. When I googled it I found your problem and it fixed my issue.

  6. CAPerfetti says:

    WOW!! Thank you so much for your blog! You saved my life!
    My daughter left her computer with me for a few days so I could stay connected to the internet while I'm at the shore, and this negative thing happened…I search every setting and had no idea what or why it happened. As soon as I hooked up to the internet, I googled and found your blog. So simple, so easy, so free of charge! I told her nothing of my trouble until after I fixed it…I could have never convinced her that I didn't break her computer. Thank you Thank You Thank You

  7. Nanaimo6 says:

    THANK YOU! My 22 month old got to my mac!

  8. Hannah says:

    after mine was negative i tried this and it just went to white and black 😦

  9. Denise says:

    Thanks…my 14 month old did the same thing! Thanks for posting the solution!

  10. Pauline says:

    This DID happen to me…..my grandson pushed a button. After hours of trying to figure out what happened I found this post. In two seconds I was able to finally fix it. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!!

  11. Cindy says:

    Thanks, much. My students do this to me all the time at school, and I had forgotten the key strokes. I will memorize it this time.

Join the Conversation

