New Elemental CM Blog Series: Children's Ministry in a Missional Paradigm

Over the past couple of months, I’ve been challenged by a few people in my life (you know who you are!!) to not just ask questions about children’s ministry with a missional mindset and post thoughts about it but to sit down and succinctly articulate what a missional paradigm of children’s ministry looks like.

Now, for those who know me well (which includes some of those pushing me)… know that I don’t like to be nailed down. I need to be able to adapt and change and go with the flow. That doesn’t mean I don’t have a plan and doesn’t mean I don’t do the things I talk about. But I do understand the need to articulate all that I do and all that is percolating inside my head in regards to what children’s ministry looks like in a “Third Way” paradigm.

So, this new series is a way for me to gather input from those in CM who are on a similar journey as well as those who disagree with me on the direction of CM. It is also a way for me to stay accountable to those who have challenged me as well as to those of you who do read my blog. Also, I do believe that the wisdom of the crowd is better than any one individual (thanks Charles Lee for exhibiting that at The Idea Camp), and since that belief is part of the paradigm I am looking at when it comes to children and families this is an effort to be authentic in putting together this missional paradigm of children’s ministry.

I will be posting in a couple of days some of my preliminary thoughts and what I am doing to make some of this happen where I am. I’d love to hear from you all and work with you all to figure out what missional children’s ministry looks like… for now. 😉

 


12 thoughts on “New Elemental CM Blog Series: Children's Ministry in a Missional Paradigm

  1. Kathy says:

    Lots of thoughts on this one! Our church has been on a journey over the past 18 months concerning a more missional/incarnational mindset and path.

    History: We were a seeker friendly church, growing at a rate of 5-9% over the past 15 years, attractional (waiting for people to be attracted to us before we engaged them). We built a new campus, moved in 2.5 years ago, grew with the initial excitement and then after a few months began to flatten and shrink. At the flattening stage of our attendance we began to go through a long and painful process to examine our mission/vision/values. After reading "The Forgotten Ways" and a couple of other "ah ha" moments, we began our journey to a missional/incarnational ministry vision and strategy. We have by no means "arrived" but are still right in the middle of it.

    I'm the Family Ministry Director and I'm trying to figure out how this all impacts what, how and why we do what we do. So I am all in for more conversation. Let's talk!

    Kathy

  2. J.C. says:

    I'm interested to see what your thoughts are Henry!! I can't wait to see what others are thinking as well. Looking forward to eventful discussions.

  3. Brenda says:

    As a church, we have been on a journey for the past two years. We are getting ready to put what we have learned into action. One of the components is being more missionally minded. As the Director of Children's Ministry, I am constantly trying to make sure what we are teaching kids and families is consistent with the direction of the church. I've been processing the idea of how teach, communicate, inspire, model, and develop a missional mindset. Not sure I have any of the answers yet…just ideas…It is great to hear others are on the same path!

  4. Carla says:

    I'm excited for your posts!!

  5. Eric Bryant says:

    Excited to read your findings!

  6. […] is part of a series, explained in a previous post, to come up with an ethos of children’s ministry in a missional paradigm that can be taken […]

  7. […] Children’s Ministry in a Missional Paradigm, part 1 and part 2 by Henry Zonio, Elemental Children’s Ministry […]

  8. […] we continue in this series to articulate what children’s ministry looks like in a missional paradigm, we’ve looked at what “missional” means here, here and […]

  9. […] in articulating what children’s ministry might look like within a missional paradigm, here is an explanation of the conversation and there is more conversation here, here, here, and […]

  10. […] church” that prompt me to try and take a different look at children’s ministry – children’s ministry in a missional paradigm. We’ve looked at a few definitions of the word “missional” here, here and here. […]

  11. […] I continue to explore children’s ministry in a missional paradigm, I wanted to throw out one more thing before fleshing out some of the ideas I’ve put out in […]

  12. […] I continue to explore children’s ministry in a missional paradigm, I wanted to throw out one more thing before fleshing out some of the ideas I’ve put out in […]

Join the Conversation

