The Idea Camp

I ran across this post on Eric Bryan’s blog about an “unconference” called The Idea Camp. I’m not all sure exactly what it’s about. It seems pretty nebulous right now, but it has piqued my interest. Apparently, registration for this unconference is free and is happening at the end of February at NewSong in Irving, CA.

Go ahead and check it out. I’m sure we’ll find out more about it as time goes on, but the concept of people getting together to share ideas and have the attendees drive the content seems intriguing. I wonder how children’s and family ministries could fit into something like this? You could look at ideas of how to form/create generational cultures at the formative stages of a generation–when they are kids. Or looking at how current missional/emerging theological converstaions are translated into children and family ministry contexts? Hmm… now my brain is percolating!

Take a look at The Idea Camp. What do you think? Initially, I’m somewhat cynical because it seems very church trendy, but that could just be me.

3 thoughts on “The Idea Camp

  1. Charles Lee says:

    Love to talk to you about the Idea Camp. We are definitely not trying to be “trendy” in any way. I too have been skeptical as well. Things will form and I would love to stay in touch. Love to consider a children’s focus there as well.

  2. henryjz says:

    Charles,

    Thanks for taking the time to check out my blog. I don’t mean to come off as critical. I just tend to be skeptical… that’s a good thing and a bad thing. To be fair, I do have a good dose of hope that stands in opposition to the skepticism about your event. I need to read the posts you have that define and unconference to get a better understanding… and, hey, if Eric Bryant is endorsing it, it can’t all be bad 😉 I look forward to conversing more with you.

  3. Charles Lee says:

    No worries…I’m the same way 🙂 I’m serious about hearing more about your work. Let me know if you ever want to talk or connect. Email me.

Join the Conversation

