Puddle Boots and the Definition of "Fun"

Well, the snow is finally melting here in the Great White North, and the kids have transitioned into wearing rain boots rather than snow boots. The other day my 3-year old daughter was getting read to go out, and she said, “I want to wear my puddle boots.” Immediately, I wanted to pick her up and give her tons of kisses for her cuteness. I had never thought of calling rain boots… puddle boots. We always have told our kids that if they want to jump in the puddles, they need to wear their rain boots instead of their nice runners (sneakers or tennis shoes, for those of you in the States). My daughter decided to bypass the silly name of rain boots and call them for their purpose, which is jumping in puddles đŸ™‚ Oh, to be three again! It got me thinking, though. How many times do we try and be formal with how we word our documents and our mission statements and such? How many times to we try and think of cool names for VBS or Sunday School instead of just revamping it all and reinventing something new? Why don’t we just figure out what we want to do, do it, and then call it what it is? Weird thoughts to come out of my interaction with my daughter and her puddle boots.

If that wasn’t enough, I was talking with a parent a couple of weeks ago about her son. She wanted to know if he was spending too much time goofing off on Sunday mornings or actually participating. I let her know that he was a typical boy: he did both! On the way home she talked with her son about not goofing off so much. His response to her was, “Mom, I don’t understand. Henry wants us to have fun.” That is true. One of our rules is, “Expect to learn something and have fun doing it.” In his mind, he was having fun while goofing off. It was one of those DUH moments. I’ve been telling kids this rule for years! How many have been interpreting it that way? Of course a kid is going to include being goofy with having fun! It got me thinking about what other things I’ve taken for granted that kids understand. Do kids understand what I mean by “God loves you no matter what” or “Jesus wants to be your forever friend”? Do kids understand what we are singing? Do they understand the points we are trying to teach them? How many times do we think that kids understand what we think we are saying when they really don’t?

Just some questions and thoughts that have been going through my mind these past couple of weeks. Any thoughts?

One thought on “Puddle Boots and the Definition of "Fun"

  1. Desiree says:

    I always loved how you talked about making Jesus the “boss of our lives” instead of “asking Jesus into your heart” because the latter can be so confusing. When you ask Jesus in to your heart you ARE making him the boss of your life. Thus Rain boots= Asking Jesus into your heart, Puddle boots= making Jesus the boss of your life. It’s taking those intangible ideas and turning them into action! Nice thought.

Join the Conversation

